jump to navigation

Come look over my shoulder June 20, 2006

Posted by jeanne in Author's Note, Blog project, Characters, construction news, Creative Writing, Crime Fiction, original fiction, reading club, Urban Development.
trackback

I'm in the very beginning stages of writing a novel, and I'd like to invite you to participate in a blog project – writing Construction News.  

I'm going to start with the bare bones of an idea, a bunch of characters, and a what if attitude. Slowly an outline will form, and then I will separate it all into chapters and start writing.  

To let you know a little bit about me, or at least my writing history, perhaps you are the recipient of one of my famous missives from all over the world. Or maybe you read Sexscopes during its short life on the net. And I'm hoping you are currently reading my second novel, 'Splat', a story about at Atlanta girl with road rage and a paintgun (currently running on blogger ). 

When I'm working on a story, I tend to write in fits of inspiration, spending six hours or so staring off into space while my fingers fly along the keyboard. Like the practice of any art, the energy flows thru me and out of my fingers into creation. It's better than sex. Or at least, just as good as. To be honest, it's more like I'm spending time off in la la land while the fairies write my story for me. Too cool. 

However, when I'm finished writing a chapter, it's an unholy mess, so then you get to watch me correct spelling and fix ideas and edit for stupidity. And sometimes I'll realize something has to happen this way and only this way, and will have to go back and completely write whole sections, or change characters. Always something out of left field.  

And then the fun part, the stuff I couldn't do if this were a printed book. I get to use links. You get to see my research, my notes, the links I followed to get the background facts. You get to see other points of view, read up on complexities I had to skim over, see amusing shit I stumble on during my cruises thru google and wikipedia.  

I'm still designing the blog page. At this point, the main column will be the finished chapters, one by one. The sidebar will have various categories, like:

  • Synopsis

  • Characters 

  • What else would anyone like to see here? 

  • Research links 

  • Miniblog, if i can figure out how to do it here, of daily construction updates from the actual construction project this story hinges on.  

Please make comments, tell me what you think and make suggestions. Since this novel is starting out with nothing figured out, readers will have a unique opportunity to change the course of history as it's being written. 

Meanwhile, my apologies for the clumsiness of this page. I still have no real idea of how to use my blogging tools. I'm sure that will come in time. In the meantime, I don't have a novel yet, either. 

So, stay tuned.

 

jeanne

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

